The price of Fitness.

aaaaaaa

 

From  what I have experienced so far since embarking on this journey to a “New Me” is that the price attached to health and fitness is ridiculous and I feel this is something that I feel needs to be addressed and talked about on my blog.

Since my new employment status has changed from employed to unemployed over the last couple weeks I cannot help but notice how much I spend per week on fitness products, memberships, personal training sessions, and food.  The amounts range for each thing as I am very particular in where I choose to train and eat, having that being said due to my current circumstances I feel I might have to make some SERIOUS changes and actually limit my spending on health and fitness services etc.

What matters the most here is that health professionals harp on about how Pacific islanders and Maori are “Higher risk” to receiving diabetes and other weight/diet health related issues.  What I think about that is that how the heck can we afford the cost of eating well and gym memberships and fitness supplements.  These days on average to get a gym membership roughly about $20.00 Per week, supplements like protein powder ranges anywhere from $50.00 – $150 (dependent on size), and food gee that is a whole other story that I might actually discuss in my next post! But food generally when I do a shop it cost roughly $150.00 and that is not everything that I need I always forget something on the list.  After that cost you need to think about getting the correct gym/fitness gear  and because I am such a label whore (most people are these days) you begin to spend roughly about or over $200.00 per month this would include gym towels, clothing, shoes and various other items like gym apps and diet books.

The statistics NZ  2012/13 New Zealand Health Survey found that:

  • almost one in three adults (aged 15 years and over) were obese (31%), a further 34% were overweight
  • 48% of Māori adults were obese
  • 68% of Pacific adults were obese
  • there has been an increase in obesity in males from 17% in 1997 to 30% in 2012/13
  • there has been an increase in obesity in females from 21% in 1997 to 32% in 2012/13.

These numbers I feel are a reflection on what is currently going on within New Zealand’s economy.  The statistics pretty much speak for themselves.

Pacific Island and Maori families have fairly large families.   Now could you imagine this cost for each person in a 5 person family with 1 income?  I don’t know about you but I surely can’t, and the thought that they blame it on diet and lifestyle I think is total utter crap.  Yes I do understand that within the Samoan culture (my culture) and actually any Pacific island/ Maori Culture Food is seen as bringing people together, no one is to go hungry and there is always enough of it to go around.

There are other ways that this can be addressed I know it is but the cost of living here in New Zealand does not help the situation at all.  At the end of the day I think that is what it all boils down to  is the cost to live in New Zealand.  It is clearly seen and look at the effect that it is having on our people.  It breaks my heart to see and know that this  is going on within my own country. The New Zealand government offers what is called a green prescription and what this does is discounts the cost of gym memberships and that’s it oh no actually I stand corrected also offer surgery for weight reduction!  What about the cost of food, gym clothing/shoes and all other aspects??? Makes one question the government and it’s goals which is a another subject that I will not choose to go into right now.  What I am still trying to get my head around is how is discounted gym memberships and surgery going to help the community?? Health and fitness is a full blown lifestyle change but what also needs to be taken into consideration is cultural aspects.

I wish things were different but hay we are in the 21st century and everything is about money!

 

 

Leave a comment